With the second half of IPL 2020 getting underway from today, Chennai Super Kings captain MS Dhoni won the toss and decided to bat first, for the first time in this year's tournament! CSK had made 1 change and brought in Piyush Chawla to shore up their bowling resources, in place of N Jagadeesan! SRH had also made a change and brought in spin bowler Shahbaz Nadeem in place of batsman Abhishek Sharma. CSK fans had a pleasant surprise when Sam Curran walked out to open the innings with Faf du Plessis, in place of Shane Watson. Curran started slowly but began showing intent before Faf got a Golden Duck and reduced CSK to 10/1 off 2.1 Overs! Sandeep Sharma had his man off the first ball of his second over. Curran let loose and got a quick-fire before Sandeep Sharma claimed his second wicket to send back Curran. At the end of the Powerplay, CSK were 44/2 with Watson and Rayudu at the crease.

The two veterans built up the innings but punished the bad balls and took CSK to 69/2 at the end of 10 overs. Rayudu began picking up the pace and Watson too got going and by the end of the 15th over, CSK were 116/2 and looked set for a mammoth total before Rayudu mistimed a shot and was out on 41. Out walked Dhoni and things were looking up for CSK but Watson too got out the very next over to a very similar shot to Rayudu's. At 120/4, CSK had lost both its set batsmen before Dhoni took Natarajan for a couple of boundaries and a 6. However, Natarajan had the last laugh, as he got MSD for a brisk 21 off 13 balls! Bravo was removed for a Golden Duck by Khaleel in the first ball of the 20th over, before Jadeja went berserk and hit a couple of boundaries, taking CSK to a respectable 167/6 and setting SRH a target of 168! Chahar started off CSK's defence with a very tight 1st over, which went for just 4 runs, including a wide.

Bairstow hit a couple of boundaries before Curran caught and bowled Warner for a measly 9 runs. Manish Pandey walked out and hit a boundary before a direct hit by Bravo caught him short of the crease, in the same over. These two wickets gave CSK a very good start and at the end of the Powerplay, SRH were 40/2! Williamson and Bairstow built up a partnership but Jadeja bowled out Bairstow to break it and even as Priyam Garg struggled to get going, Williamson stroked a couple of boundaries. Just as Garg began showing some form, Karn Sharma took him out with a good catch by Jadeja! At the end of the final time-out, SRH needed 59 runs from 24 balls! Jadeja took another sharp catch off Bravo's bowling to send back Vijay Shankar and after a 4 off the first ball of the 18th over, Williamson also fell to Karn Sharma, after a well made 57! Rashid Khan and Shahbaz Nadeem swung around their bats and got another 15 runs off the Karn Sharma over. With 27 needed off 12 balls, Thakur came on to bowl the 19th over and had Rashid Khan knocking off his own stumps with his legs to end the over with just 5 runs and a wicket. Bravo had 22 to defend off the final over but his experience came to the fore as he got Nadeem caught & bowled and gave away just 1 run, to hand CSK a 20 run win! For his 25 runs from 10 balls and a wicket after giving away just 21 runs in his 3 overs, Ravindra Jadeja was adjudged the Player of the Match!