The 68th National Film Awards was announced on Friday, July 22, by the Government of India at the National Media Centre in New Delhi, which saw three Tamil films take home most of the accolades among which included Soorarai Pottru, Mandela, and Sivaranjiniyum Innum Sila Pengalum, collectively winning a total of 10 awards. A ten-member jury headed by filmmaker Vipul Shah submitted the report for the 2020 National Film Awards to Anurag Thakur (Minister of Information and Broadcasting) after which the winners' list was announced recognizing the work of actors and technicians in films across the country. 

Among the Tamil films that took home the most accolades, Soorarai Pottru came out on top with five awards namely the Best Film, followed by the Best Actor (Male) award for Suriya, which he shared with Bollywood star Ajay Devgn for his performance in Tanhaji and Best Actor (Female) award for Aparna Balamurali. Likewise, the action drama film also secured wins for the Best Music Director (Background Score) for G. V. Prakash and Best Screenplay award for Sudha Kongara and Shalini Usha. The next Tamil venture to secure the most number of wins for the 2020 National Film Awards was the Vasanth S. Sai directorial Sivaranjiniyum Innum Sila Pengalum, which took home the honors for Best Tamil Film (Feature), Best Supporting Actress for Lakshmi Priyaa Chandramouli and Best Editing for Sreekar Prasad. The Yogi Babu-starrer political satire film Mandela also won high praise at the 68th National Film Awards with Madonne Ashwin being honored with the Indira Gandhi Award for Best Debut Film of a Director Award and the Best Dialogue Writer award. 

Below is the complete list of winners at the 68th National Film Awards: 

Best Film: Soorarai Pottru

Best Tamil Film (Feature): Sivaranjiniyum Innum Sila Pengalum

Best Actor Male: Suriya (Soorarai Pottru) - Shared with Ajay Devgn (Tanhaji)

Best Actor Female: Aparna Balamurali (Soorarai Pottru)

Best Supporting Actress: Lakshmi Priyaa Chandramouli (Sivaranjiniyum Innum Sila Pengalum)

Indira Gandhi Award for Best Debut Film of a Director Award - Madonne Ashwin (Mandela)

Best BGM: G. V. Prakash Kumar (Soorarai Pottru)

Best Editing: Sreekar Prasad (Sivaranjiniyum Innum Sila Pengalum)

Best Production: 2D Productions (Soorarai Pottru)

Best Screenplay: Shalini Usha and Sudha Kongara (Soorarai Pottru)

Best Dialogue: Madonne Ashwin (Mandela)