All of in India enjoy Cricket and the following it has takes it akin to any religion or at times, even a number of religions combined! The Indian Premier League is one of the biggest sporting events in the world and is a carnival for all cricket fans. The IPL was instituted in 2008 with 8 franchises owning 8 teams! After gaining popularity and a worldwide reach, the tournament organisers expanded the tournament to include two more teams in the 2011 edition, which had 10 teams. The 10 teams were split into two groups of 5 each and the top 2 teams from each group, then played in the Playoffs! The original 8 teams - Rajasthan Royals, Kings XI Punjab, Chennai Super Kings, Delhi Daredevils, Mumbai Indians, Kolkata Knight Riders, Royal Challengers Bangalore and Deccan Chargers, were joined by the Kochi Tuskers Kerala and the Pune Warriors India.

However, the Kochi Tuskers Kerala were terminated and didn't participate in the 2012 season itself. This tournament turned out to be a 9-team affair. The 2013 tournament saw the termination of the Deccan Chargers tournament and was replaced by the Surisers Hyderabad team. The Pune Warriors India team withdrew from the 2014 tournament, making the IPL an 8 team tournament, once again. The IPL was then hit by the match-fixing and betting scandals in 2015, following which the Rajasthan Royals and the Chennai Super Kings were suspended from the IPL with a 2-year ban, in 2016. This made way for two new teams to enter the fray, with a limitation to be allowed to play for only 2 years! Thus, the Rising Pune Supergiants and the Gujarat Lions joined the IPL. When the CSK and RR teams returned after their suspension in 2018, the RPS and GL teams made way for them, reverting the IPL to an 8-team tournament!

For long, there have been calls to increase the number of teams in the IPL and it is all set to become a reality, now! The BCCI's Annual General Meeting in Ahmedabad, has approved the request to make the IPL a 10-team tournament. This will come into effect from 2022, as the 2021 IPL is just 4 months away. The addition of 2 new team to the IPL was one of the main items on the agenda of the 89th AGM of the BCCI and it has since been ratified. Another important item on the agenda was Cricket's inclusion in the 2028 Los Angeles Olympics and steps have been taken regarding that too. Reports state that the BCCI President Sourav Ganguly and Secretary Jay Shah had wanted to increase the number of teams in the IPL to provide more opportunities to players within India as well as the world. One of the specific criterions for the inclusion of the new teams is that, no state having a team in the IPL already, will be able to bid for another team.