The highly anticipated teaser of Mani Ratnam's Ponniyin Selvan released yesterday (July 8) amidst huge expectations and it has opened to an overwhelming response from the audiences. The teaser has also given us a clear picture of the lead characters and their respective pairs in the film. Chiyaan Vikram plays Aditya Karikalan, the eldest son of Sundara Chozhan, and he doesn't have a pair as such. He would have feelings for Nandini (Aishwarya Rai Bachchan) but she would eventually get married to Periya Pazhuvettaraiyar (Sarath Kumar), leaving him single. Until the very end, Chiyaan Vikram will not have a pair.

On the other hand, Karthi (Vanthiya Thevan) will fall for Kundhavai (Trisha) and the duo will be paired in the film. Jayam Ravi who plays the titular character of Ponniyin Selvan will be paired opposite Sobhita Dhulipala who plays Vaanathi. We even saw a shot of Ravi and Sobhita walking together in the teaser. So, the pairs for the three male leads of Ponniyin Selvan would be:

Chiyaan Vikram (Aditya Karikalan) - No Pair
Karthi (Vanthiya Thevan) - Trisha (Kundhavai)
Jayam Ravi (Ponniyin Selvan) - Sobhita Dhulipala (Vaanathi)
Aishwarya Rai (Nandini) - Sarath Kumar (Periya Pazhuvettaraiyar)

Well, details regarding the rest of the characters are yet to be known and we will keep you posted about them. Ponniyin Selvan is directed by Mani Ratnam and this one is an ambitious project from the legendary filmmaker. The shooting is fully complete and the post production works are happening in full swing. The makers have announced that the film will hit the screens on September 30 and it will have a Pan Indian release in 5 languages - Tamil, Telugu, Kannada, Hindi, and Malayalam. Produced by Lyca Productions in association with Madras Talkies, the film features Sarath Kumar, Prakash Raj, Prabhu, Lal, Jayaram, Rahman, Aadukalam Kishore, Jaya Chitra, Aishwarya Lekshmi, Vikram Prabhu, Arjun Chidambaram, Ashwin Kakumanu, Mohan Raman, and others in supporting roles.

A.R.Rahman has composed music for this film that has cinematography handled by Ravi Varman and dialogues penned by Jeyamohan. Ilango Krishnan, Kabilan, and Siva Ananth have penned the lyrics.