The MK Stalin-led Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) is currently in the lead in Tamil Nadu, early polls show, as the counting of votes for the Tamil Nadu Assembly elections 2021 began today. As of 10 a.m., DMK is leading the front in 128 constituencies, with the ruling AIADMK behind in 93 constituencies. Polls in the state were held on April 6 in a single phase at 234 assembly constituencies as the ruling All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) contested 191 seats, with Pattali Makkal Katchi (PMK) in 23 seats, followed by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) contesting 20 seats. The Opposition alliance led by the DMK contested 188, while its ally Congress 25 seats and the rest going to the minor allies. As the coronavirus pandemic continues to infect lakhs across the country on a daily basis, there had been fears that the vote counting process could lead to more fresh cases in the state. 

The 2021 Tamil Nadu Assembly elections is the first occasion that the state is witnessing a power battle without M Karunanidhi and J Jayalalithaa not leading the charge. Their absence owing to their demise has led to others in the state to rise to the front in the political arena in the last few years. As many as 4,000 candidates from all parties contested in the 2021 TN elections held in April this year among whom included Chief Minister E Palaniswami, Deputy Chief Minister O Panneerselvam, DMK President MK Stalin, his son and party youth wing secretary Udhayanidhi Stalin, followed by AIADMK's rival TTV Dhinakaran and Kamal Haasan's Makkal Needhi Maiam. The voter turnout for the polling in the 234 Assembly seats in Tamil Nadu was recorded to be at around 72.8%.