Earlier this year, the Hindi remake of Suriya's critically-acclaimed film, Soorarai Pottru, was announced, with Bollywood superstar Akshay Kumar portraying the Tamil superstar's role. The upcoming remake, which is being directed by Sudha Kongara and features music by G. V. Prakash Kumar, has the duo once again reprising their duties from the 2020 Tamil original, under the joint collaboration of Suriya and Jyotika's 2D Entertainment in association with Vikram Malhotra's Abundantia Entertainment banners. With a major chunk of production on the Soorarai Pottru Hindi remake said to be completed already, composer G. V. Prakash on Tuesday, December 27, shared an exciting update on social media regarding the film's songs. 

Taking to Twitter, G. V. Prakash posted a photo of himself with director Sudha Kongara from the studio and informed that the recording process for the Soorarai Pottru Hindi remake's songs is currently underway. The chart-buster composer then dropped a big update revealing that he is coming up with new songs for the Hindi version of the film, which went on floors back in April this year. G. V. Prakash wrote, "#SooraraiPottru Hindi songs recording on progress … coming up with fresh songs for it … super excited". Check out his tweet below: 

The Soorarai Pottru Hindi remake created instant excitement and curiosity among fans after being announced and will see Akshay Kumar paired with Radhika Madan of Mard Ko Dard Nahi Hota fame, who is cast in the role played by Aparna Balamurali in the Tamil original, which will also see Suriya making a cameo appearance. The title for the Hindi version of the film is yet to be announced along with the release plans, which are expected to be revealed sometime in early 2023. Expectations for the Soorarai Pottru remake are massive, especially after the Tamil version of the film was released directly on Amazon Prime Video and won five National Awards for Best Feature Film, Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Music Direction – Score, and Best Original Screenplay.