Ace filmmaker Mani Ratnam's Ponniyin Selvan: I is gearing up for a massive worldwide theatrical release on September 30 and post-production works are in full swing as it has now been revealed that Academy Award-winning sound designer Craig Mann is a part of the film, which also has music by Oscar winner A. R. Rahman. Having won an Oscar for Best Sound Mixing in the 2014 film, Whiplash, the reputed Hollywood technician is also known for his work in blockbusters like the Insidious franchise and Annabelle: Creation. Ponniyin Selvan is Craig Mann's next in Tamil as he has previously been a part of Kamal Haasan's Uttama Villain and more recently Parthiban's Iravin Nizhal. Check out the post below: 


A post shared by Srikant Krishna (@srikant_krishna)

The makers of Ponniyin Selvan are leaving no stone unturned in making it as grand as possible ahead of the film opening in cinemas next month considering it is also incidentally the first Tamil venture to be getting an IMAX release. Starring 'Chiyaan' Vikram, Karthi, Jayam Ravi, Trisha, and Aishwarya Rai Bachchan in the lead roles, the upcoming epic period action film based on legendary Tamil writer Kalki Krishnamurthy's acclaimed novel of the same name has been bankrolled by Lyca Productions and Madras Talkies banners and will be coming out as a pan-Indian release in Tamil, Telugu, Hindi, Malayalam and Kannada languages.

Expectations for Ponniyin Selvan are massive considering the film had failed to materialize for a big-screen adaptation in the past as many had attempted to adapt it to the big screen, including Mani Ratnam himself a decade back with a different cast. PS: 1, which is powered by its lead stars, also has to its credit several highly-talented actors forming the ensemble supporting cast featuring the likes of Prakash Raj, Prabhu, Sarathkumar, Parthiban, Jayaram, Aishwarya Lekshmi, Sobhita Dhulipala, Vikram Prabhu, Ashwin Kakamanu, Vijayakumar,  Nasser, Kishore, Riyaz Khan, Nizhalgal Ravi, Lal, Rahman, Aswin Rao, Jayachitra, Mohan Raman, Vinodhini Vaidyanathan, Master Raghavan, Sara Arjun, Makarand Deshpande, Balaji Sakthivel, Arjun Chidambaram, Babu Antony, Vijay Yesudas, Amzath Khan among others.