Tamil Nadu Assembly elections 2021: Suspension for cop after DMK supporters celebrate at Arivalayam

Tamil Nadu Assembly elections 2021: Suspension for cop after DMK supporters celebrate at Arivalayam - Daily news

A Tamil Nadu Police Inspector has been suspended from service today after failing to curtail the celebrations by Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) cadre and supporters at the party headquarters in Chennai. The Election Commission has informed that the celebrations violated the orders banning the festivities in view of the second COVID-19 wave that is leaving lakhs affected every day around the country. The Teynampet Police Inspector’s suspension comes from the poll panel's letter to the Chief Secretary of Tamil Nadu. 

#WATCH | DMK supporters continue to celebrate outside party headquarters in Chennai as official trends show the party leading on 118 seats so far.

Election Commission of India has banned any victory procession amid the #COVID19 situation in the country.#TamilNaduElections2021 pic.twitter.com/z6Fp5YRnKP

— ANI (@ANI) May 2, 2021

With the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) set to form the new government despite counting of votes still underway, the Election Commission issued stern orders today after reports surfaced around the four states and a Union Territory where celebrations by party cadre over anticipated victories were observed. "The ECI has directed chief secretaries of all five states to file FIR in each such case, suspend the SHO of the concerned police station and report action taken immediately of each such incidence," an Election Commission spokesperson said. The banning of victory processions on vote counting day was ordered recently in an effort to stop the spread of coronavirus. Tamil Nadu on Saturday recorded 19,588 fresh COVID-19 cases and 147 deaths.

Speaking about the anticipated celebrations in view of DMK's victory, TKS Elangovan of the party in Chennai said, "The cadres are simply jubilant. Our leader's advice to the cadres is to let them celebrate from their homes as the Election Commission is taking serious note of any violation. We are a responsible political party." Vote counting for the assembly polls in the four states - Assam, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, West Bengal and the Union Territory of Puducherry - began at 8 am, with results being announced throughout the day. 

Leave a Comment