The counting of votes for the Tamil Nadu Assembly elections 2021 is still underway in several constituencies across the state, with Naam Tamilar Katchi's chief Seeman declared to have lost at the Thiruvottriyur constituency he had contested. Seeman had been pitted against DMK's K. P. Sankar, who secured 39,588 more votes, with Naam Tamilar Katchi as well failing to triumph in the constituencies it had contested. 

Seeman's Naam Tamilar Katchi contested the 2021 Tamil Nadu Assembly elections without an alliance with any of the other leading political parties, which earned them a lot of appreciation from many, including a number of analysts, who stated that it was a step away from the practice as has been for a long time. Seeman's Naam Tamilar Katchi has managed to gain more votes in comparison to their previous outings. The Naam Tamilar Katchi, which contested alone in all of the 234 constituencies across Tamil Nadu, has also surprised everyone by emerging as the third largest party in the 2021 Tamil Nadu Assembly Elections based on the number of votes polled.

DMK chief MK Stalin has led the party to a victory and will be forming the new government in the state after a decade. Stalin secured his third win from the Kolathur constituency where he has contested and is also his seventh triumph in the TN Assembly elections. As of 10 pm, the DMK alliance had secured more than 130 seats in the state, with Youth Wing Secretary Udhayanidhi Stalin as well emerging victorious at the Chepauk-Thiruvallikeni constituency.