The counting of votes for the single-phased Tamil Nadu Assembly elections 2021 is still underway, with polls now officially revealing the Makkal Needhi Maiam (MNM) President Kamal Haasan losing at the Coimbatore (South) constituency. Kamal Haasan had earlier in the day reached the campus of the GCT College, where the counting of votes was being carried out, and had pitted him against Congress candidate Mayura Jayakumar and Bharatiya Janata Party's (BJP) Vanathi Srinivasan. 

The vote counting for the Coimbatore (South) constituency witnessed today quite a lot of intense drama after it showed Haasan in the lead during the early trends after which BJP's Vanathi Srinivasan overtook him by a little more than 1,000 votes. Having said that, Kamal Haasan once again bounced back by 1000 votes, which was again beaten by Vanathi at around 6 pm. Although the news of Kamal Haasan's defeat at Coimbatore (South) might come as a disappointment to some, the actor-turned-politician's strong showing has won him a lot of support from his fans and followers, who have been keeping a close watch on all the developments on his electoral debut.

Kamal Haasan's Makkal Needhi Maiam contested in 142 seats out of the 234 constituencies when the state went to Assembly polls on April 6, which saw almost 4,000 candidates contesting in the elections. Vote counting began today morning at 8 am and is the first election polling that saw the absence of the former Chief Ministers J. Jayalalithaa and M. Karunanidhi.