For the firs time in the history of the 13 seasons of the IPL, Chennai Super Kings are out of the tournament without playing in the Playoffs! The only team to have been a part of the Playoffs in all the seasons they have participated in - CSK were out of sorts in this year's IPL and became the first team to be without a chance for the Playoffs. However, with 2 matches remaining, CSK could definitely play spoilsport for some other teams and ensure that they didn't qualify too! Today, was one such encounter between CSK and KKR, who are trying to get into the Playoffs! MS Dhoni won the toss for CSK and asked KKR to bat first, considering the dew factor! KKR replaced Prasidh Krishna with Rinku Singh while CSK made 3 changes. KKR's opening pair of Gill and Rana got off to a very good start with 3 boundaries off the very first over. Gill took a particular liking to the pacers and Rana destroyed Santner's 6th over to take KKR to 48 for no loss, at the end of the Powerplay! Karn Sharma knocked back Gill's stumps with his 2nd ball and Santner had Narine the very next over to have KKR at 70/2 at the end of 10 overs!

Rana continued his good form but Jadeja took out Rinku for 11 in the 13th over. Rana reached his 50 off 44 balls and got going in the 16th over to take the first 3 balls of Karn Sharma's overs for sixers! He then cracked two 4s off Chahar's next over and got to 87, before Ngidi got him as his first wicket of the match. Karthik then came in and played a neat little cameo but Morgan fell for 15 in the final over, as KKR finished on 172/5, setting CSK a target of 173 to win! The returning Watson and Ruturaj Gaikwad walked out to open the innings for CSK and had a sedate start. By the 3rd over, both batsmen got going with a couple of boundary shots and had taken CSK to 23/0! Gaikwad began taking control and showed how good a player he is, with some dazzling strokes, which were all technically sound and never seemed like slogs. CSK went past the Powerplay without losing any wickets and scoring 44! Watson fell to Varun Chakravarthy's mystery spin in the 8th over, bringing Rayudu to the crease. After taking some time to settle in, Rayudu joined Gaikwad in showcasing some batting mastery!

Rana came on to bowl an over, hoping his form with the bat would translate to bowling too. However, Rayudu had other plans and thrashed that over for 16 runs, taking CSK to 74/1 at the end of 10 overs! Gaikwad matched Rayudu and took apart the 11th over for 14 runs. Rayudu took on Cummins in the 14th over for a couple of boundaries but fell to a shot too many, for 38 off just 20 balls! In walked captain MSD but got out almost immediately being bowled by Varun, after not reading one of his quicker deliveries. At the end of the 15th over, CSK needed 52 runs from 30 balls but had the wickets in hand with Sam Curran joining Gaikwad at the crease. Cummins then removed Gaikwad for 72, with CSK needing 33 off 16 balls. Despite Jadeja at the crease, Cummins bowled a tight over to leave CSK wanting 30 runs off the last 2 overs. There was enough evidence of dew on the ground, justifying MSD's decision to field first and this is when it came into stark relief. Lockie Ferguson came to bowl the 19th over but was suffering from the dew factor, unable to grip the ball properly. Jadeja hit him for a leg-side 4 before an above knee-high ball was clattered for 2 runs. The resulting free-hit was tonked for a 6 and the last ball of the over ran for a 4 off an outside edge. This had CSK wanting just 10 runs off the last over from Nagarkoti! He bowled a tight over and gave away just 3 runs off the first 4 balls, making the CSK camp tense. However, Jadeja held his calm and hit 2 6s off the last 2 balls to take CSK home in style. CSK had won by 5 wickets and created a huge dent in KKR's chances of qualifying for the Playoffs! Ruturaj Gaikwad won his 2nd Player of the Match award in a row, after hitting 2 back-to-back 50s!