After nearly 7 months of being under a nation-wide lockdown, the restrictions have been lifted across India in phases and now almost all the restrictions have been lifted. The State Assembly elections for Bihar were held recently and after a tough competition, the National Democratic Alliance (NDA), won with a majority. The coalition parties' leaders met earlier today and have now arrived at a unanimous decision as to who the next Chief Minister is going to be. The NDA leaders have chosen former CM Nitish Kumar to once again ascend the CM's seat. This will mark his fourth consecutive term as the CM of Bihar.

The Janata Dal-United {J(DU)} leader, will now lead the coalition government formed by the NDA in Bihar and we hear that he has already approached the Bihar Governor Phagu Chauhan, seeking permission to form the government. Nitish Kumar will take oath tomorrow. Sushil Modi, who was the former Deputy CM of the state, is expected to continue in the same position, in the new government too. However, his absence at the NDA meeting today, has given rise to speculations that the Deputy CM role could be taken up by somebody else. There was an informal meeting of the NDA at Nitish Kumar's residence, on Friday after the election results were announced on November 10th. 

The NDA in Bihar, constitutes 4 parties - Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP), JD(U), Vikassheel Insaan Party and Hindustani Awam Morcha (Secular). The Bihar assembly has 243 constituencies and 122 of them are needed to form the government with the NDA winning in 125 of them. The biggest opposition in the state - the Grand Alliance (Mahagath Bandhan), managed to win in only 110 constituencies. Among the seats won by the NDA, the BJP had won a majority of 74 seats but it had been foretold that JD(U)'s Nitish Kumar would go on to become the CM. Upon the NDA deciding on Nitish Kumar to lead, Prime Minister Narendra Modi had also issued a statement that each and every member of the BJP and NDA would work towards the development of Bihar, under Nitish's leadership!