Sathyan Memorial Awards announced

This year’s Sathyan Memorial Film Awards, instituted by the Sathyan Memorial Sports and Arts Club, were announced on Tuesday in Kollan by actor Kalpana, the awards judging committee member in the presence of club president A. Sharafudeen.

Veteran actor Sreenivasan has been chosen as the best Malayalam actor and Meena the best actress. Prabhu has been chosen as the best Tamil actor and Bhavana�the best actress in Tamil. Actress Navya Nair has been chosen as the best female actor in Kannada and Mamta�the best female actor in Telugu. The best male and female debut appearances go to Vineeth Sreenivasan and Meera Nandan respectively.

Sathyan Anitkad has been selected at the best director (Malayalam) and Thangar Bachan as the best director (Tamil). Director Akku Akber of�Veruthe Oru Bharya gets a special award. Gireesh has been selected for the screenplay award and Salahudeen is the best producer (Malayalam).

Siddique is the best supporting actor (Malayalam); the best female supporting actor is Lekshmi Gopalaswami. Suraj Venjarumoodu is the best comedian. Singers K.J. Yesudas and Usha Uthup get special awards for their�contributions to music. Vijay Yesudas has been judged the best male playback singer and Shewta Mohan the best female playback singer.

In the television category, Anand Kumar and Sona Nair have been chosen as the best male and female actors respectively. Sudhi Narayanan is the best director.

The awards will be given away to the winners by Education Minister M.A. Baby at a function to be held on January 27 in Kollam. Home Minister Kodiyeri Balakrishnan will inaugurate the function. Ministers P.K. Gurudasan and N.K. Premachandran will also be present.