Legendary Tamil author Kalki Krishnamurthy's epic five-book novel series Ponniyin Selvan has been a literary work revered for decades, with many attempting to adapt it for the visual medium. In that light, Tamil film producer and director Soundarya Rajinikanth had announced in early 2019 her plans to bring the story of Ponniyin Selvan as a web series, with the filmmaker taking to social media on Friday and dropping a new update on the project's development. Taking to Twitter, Soundarya informed followers that the first season of Puthu Vellam: Ponniyin Selvan has been locked, while adding that she along with her team headed by filmmaker Sharath Kumar Joshi have overcome many obstacles in their journey since the project was first announced. 

Soundarya Rajinikanth, who is serving as the Creative Director of the upcoming series, wrote, "Every project has a journey & a destiny. On this auspicious day I’m very happy to share after many hurdles - we have locked our web series PUTHU VELLAM - PONNIYIN SELVAN SEASON 1🙏🏻🙏🏻 Can’t wait for the next steps with my super talented team headed by  @sharathjothi 🙏🏻 gods grace". The Ponniyin Selvan web series will be co-produced by Soundarya under the May 6th Entertainment banner in association with MX Player. The cast and the rest of the crew of Kalki's Ponniyin Selvan web series adaptation is expected to be made known soon considering the initial works for the project have kick-started. Below is Soundarya Rajinikanth's tweet: 

Apart from Soundarya Rajinikanth adapting Kalki's famous novel, ace Tamil filmmaker Mani Ratnam too is bringing Ponniyin Selvan as a two-parter on the big screen, with the first installment announced for a 2022 release. A major chunk of the production on Mani Ratnam's adaptation has been completed as many actors in the films have finished shooting their portions, with production headed for a wrap soon. The Ponniyin Selvan films being produced by Lyca Productions in association with Madras Talkies include a stellar star-studded cast featuring names like 'Chiyaan' Vikram, Karthi, Jayam Ravi, Aishwarya Rai Bachchan, Trisha, Prakash Raj, Rahman, Aadukalam Kishore, Jayaram, Mohan Raman, Vinodhini Vaidyanathan, Babu Antony among several others, with music by Academy Award-winning composer A. R. Rahman.