Commissioner of Revenue Administration and Special Officer appointed to the Greater Chennai Corporation (GCC) J Radhakrishnan issued a statement on Tuesday saying around 31 out of the 200 wards in Chennai city have now recorded a single coronavirus case in the last three days. He also went on to mention that less than 10 cases were recorded in 136 wards across the city during the same period. He addressed the situation of the COVID-19 spread in the city and said that it was restricted to specific areas and localities in the city. Radhakrishnan stated, "Four zones in the city are the problem areas - Tondiarpet, Royapuram, Thiru-Vi-Ka Nagar and Kodambakkam. Having said that, the rate of increase in the number of cases in Kodambakkam and Valasaravakkam has begun to decrease,".

Chennai Corporation will now take a different stance to approaching every ward and its number of coronavirus cases. Mobile X-ray scanning machines as well as thermal scanners will be used across the city starting Wednesday with screening to take place in over 200 homes every day. The initial phase where this will be rolled out are areas like Anjenaya Street, Bojarajan Nagar and Annai Sathya Nagar, Radhakrishnan stated.

A ward-wise COVID-19 incidence map released by the Chennai Corporation shows Muthialpet (ward 56), Seethakathi Nagar (60), Panamarathotti (50), George Town (59) recording as many as 41-124 cases per lakh population with the areas coming under the Royapuram zone. Likewise, places such as Thiru-Vi-Ka Nagar, Pulianthope (ward 77) have shown an incidence of 124-242 cases per lakh population and is the ward with the highest case incidence in Chennai city as of now. 

The map also sheds light on South Chennai and its wards, which have seen hardly any cases above 14 per lakh population. The data released by Chennai Corporation shows four southern zones - Alandur, Adyar, Perungudi and Shollinganallur - have only 16, 22, 17 and 22 containment streets. Whereas, Royapuram in North Chennai alone has 130 containment streets and is more than those of the four southern zones altogether.