Union Minister for Railways Piyush Goyal announced on Tuesday that 200 new non-AC special passenger trains will begin operating on a daily basis from June 1. Tickets for the special passengers trains can be booked only on the IRCTC website or on its app. All ticket booking counters at the railway stations will continue to remain closed and issuance of counter tickets including platform tickets will not happen. The train time table will be put out shortly with online ticket bookings also set to begin soon, as per the Railway Ministry.

Initially, 15 pairs of special passenger trains were made operational on May 12 and have been running from New Delhi station connecting Dibrugarh, Agartala, Howrah, Patna, Bilaspur, Ranchi, Bhubaneswar, Secunderabad, Bengaluru, Chennai, Thiruvananthapuram, Madgaon, Mumbai Central, Ahmedabad and Jammu Tawi. The Railway Ministry has also in its statement said that passengers traveling in the special trains are required to compulsorily submit their destination address during the ticket booking process as it will help the government in contact tracing those who are suspected of being affected by the coronavirus.