Mani Ratnam is currently in the process of mounting his dream project, Ponniyin Selvan, which has got huge expectations among the fans. The film, which is a historical epic, will be released in two parts, and it will have a pan Indian release. Ever since Ponniyin Selvan was officially announced, there have been various speculations and rumours surrounding the movie's lyricists. Mani Ratnam is known for his collaborations with legendary lyricist Vairamuthu and the duo, along with A.R.Rahman's music, have delivered chartbuster classic hits in the past. However, a few months before the beginning of Ponniyin Selvan, the MeToo allegations against Vairamuthu were made and it created a sensational buzz on social media.

Though there has been no official clarity regarding the case, there were reports which stated that Mani Ratnam and A.R.Rahman have decided not to work with Vairamuthu for Ponniyin Selvan, respecting the MeToo movement. Having said that, the details regarding the lyricists of Ponniyin Selvan are finally known and it is indeed quite interesting.

Mani Ratnam has roped in a writer named Ilango Krishnan to pen the lyrics for the songs in Ponniyin Selvan and Ilango is said to have written 8 songs in the album. Ilango Krishnan, who is said to have a strong knowledge of Tamil literature, will be making his debut as a lyricist in Tamil cinema with Ponniyin Selvan. Kabilan has written 2 songs, while Vairamuthu's son, Kabilan Vairamuthu has penned one song. Venba Geethayan has written one song. In total, the album of Ponniyin Selvan will have 12 songs. Sources close to the camp of Ponniyin Selvan confirmed this development.

This update has now confirmed that Vairamuthu is not a part of Mani Ratnam's Ponniyin Selvan and this is the first time that the duo is not collaborating since Roja, their first project together. Produced by Lyca Productions in association with Madras Talkies, Ponniyin Selvan features an ensemble star cast that includes Chiyaan Vikram, Jayam Ravi, Karthi, Trisha, Aishwarya Rai Bachchan, Sarath Kumar, Prabhu, Vikram Prabhu, Ashwin Kakumanu, Aishwarya Lekshmi, Sobhita Dhulipala, Prakash Raj, Nizhalgal Ravi, Mohan Raman, and others.