From MGR to 'Thalapathy' Vijay: 11 Tamil actors who started their own political party - FULL LIST HERE

From MGR To 'Thalapathy' Vijay: 11 Tamil Actors Who Started Their Own Political Party - FULL LIST HERE - Tamil Movie Cinema News
Join Our Whatsapp Channel

Actor Vijay, addressed fondly as 'Thalapathy' by his ardent fans everywhere, launched his political party, Tamizhaga Vetri Kazhagam, on Friday, February 2. Currently acting in the upcoming film, The Greatest of All Time, the leading Tamil star informed in a detailed press note that his party will not contest in the 2024 Lok Sabha polls and will make its electoral debut in the 2026 Tamil Nadu Assembly elections. With all the speculations surrounding Vijay's political entry coming to an end yesterday, we now take a look at 10 other Tamil cinema stars who launched their own party over the years. 

M. G. Ramachandran or MGR

Party name - All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam

Launch year - 1972

Sivaji Ganesan

Party name - Thamizhaga Munnetra Munnani

Launch year - 1988

K. Bhagyaraj

Party name - MGR Makkal Munnetra Kazhagam

Launch year - 1989

T. Rajendar

Party name - Thayaga Marumalarchi Kazhagam

Launch year - 1991


Party name - Desiya Murpokku Dravida Kazhagam

Launch year - 2005


Party name - All India Samathuva Makkal Katchi

Launch year - 2007


Party name - Mukkulathor Puli Padai 

Launch year - 2015

Kamal Haasan

Party name - Makkal Needhi Maiam

Launch year - 2018


Party name - Manitha Urimaigal Kaakkum Katchi

Launch year - 2018

Mansoor Ali Khan

Party name - Tamil Desiya Puligal

Launch year - 2021