The competition wasn’t very high because of the number of quality films released in those respective years. Despite all the changes, Vikram has once again proved his mettle by winning the best actor TN state award for Mani Ratnam’s Raavanan.

Surprise entries are Vimal and Siva Karthikeyan who have won state awards as well. Actors like Karan, Arya, Siddharth and Jiiva have also bagged the awards for their best films in those respective years. Some awards have been given to fill up those slots while others are well deserving for the hard work the actors put in.