The South Indian Artistes Association (SIAA), more popularly known as Nadigar Sangam, is the premier governing body in the functioning of Tamil Cinema. The association was formed in 1952 by legendary actor turned politician, M.G.Ramachandran (MGR), along with comedian NS Krishnan and director K Subrahmanyam. SIAA takes care of the well being of the actors in the industry that is also a charitable trust which provides funds and pension to retired actors, and the ones who are in poor financial state.

The current Nadigar Sangam association is headed by veteran actor Nasser. The rest of the administration includes Vishal (General Secretary), Karthi (Treasurer), Karunas (Vice President), and Ponvannan (Vice President). Nassar and Vishal's team (Pandavar Ani) won the 2015 Nadigar Sangam elections against Sarathkumar's team. The Pandavar Ani's tenure is coming to an end with this month and it is time for the next election to decide who is going to head the next tenure from 2019 to 2022.

The official word has been made and the election will take place on June 23rd at Dr.MGR Janaki College of Arts and Science for Women. The election will happen on the said date from morning 7 AM until evening 5 PM. The election will take place in a secretive manner as per the guidelines of Nadigar Sangam. The actors who are interested to contest in the election can file their nomination between 8th June and 10th June in the Election Commission office (for Nadigar Sangam) situated in Habibullah Road, T Nagar.

All leading superstars and actors including the likes of Rajinikanth, Kamal Haasan, Vijay, Ajith, Vikram, Suriya, Dhanush, Silambarasan, Vijay Sethupathi, Sivakarthikeyan, Jayam Ravi, Trisha, Nayanthara, Keerthy Suresh, Jyothika, Varalaxmi Sarathkumar, G.V.Prakash, and many others are expected to cast their vote in this election.

We will get to know the contesting parties and the names of the candidates on June 14, as the official announcement will be made on that day. June 23 is indeed going to be one important day for Tamil cinema. Stay tuned to this space for more updates on the elections.