Santhome Awards for 2007 announced

Santhome Communication Centre, which was started in 1976 by Tamil Nadu Bishops' Council in Chennai, annually recognizes all those who excel in the media with the�“Santhome Award”.

Santhome Awards for�2007 have been announced and would be given away in a grand function to be held at Santhome Higher Secondary School Indoor Stadium on November 23rd at 5.00 p.m.

Santhome “Lifetime Achievement Award”, a�very honourable and grand award,�has been conferred to many eminent personalities like Sivaji Ganesan (1993), M.S. Vishwanathan (1994), Nagesh (1997 and A.V.M. Saravanan (1998). This year, this prestigious award goes to our Chief Minister Dr. M. Karunanidhi.

Some of the famous personalities who received other Santhome Awards are: Actors Charu Haasan and Suhasini Mani Ratnam. Directors K. Balachander, Bharathi Raja, Mahendran, Balu Mahendra, Sethu Madhavan and Kadhir.

Following is the details of other Santhome Award recipients this year:

Best Film: Mozhi.

Best Director: Thangar Bachan for Onbathu Roobai Nottu

Best Lyricist: Vairamuthu for the song 'Kaatrin Mozhi' (Mozhi).

Best TV programme for children: Pattampoochi of Makkal TV.

Best TV programme (general): Neeya Naana of Vijay TV.

Best “Student” Director: Kannan for Achchupizhai.

Best Radio Programme: Bhoomi Namadhu Bhoomi.

Best Writer: Solai.

Best Newspaper: The Hindu.