Ace filmmaker Mani Ratnam's magnum opus, Ponniyin Selvan: 1, has crossed 500 crores in worldwide box office collections ahead of its 50-day theatrical run. Produced by Lyca Productions in association with Madras Talkies, the epic historical action drama film featuring music by Academy Award-winning composer A. R. Rahman continues to draw audiences to cinemas even after it premiered on Amazon Prime Video a few days back and remains the talk of the town. PS: 1 saw 'Chiyaan' Vikram portraying the role of Aditha Karikalan, who shared screen space with Jayam Ravi as Arunmozhi Varman aka Ponniyin Selvan, Karthi as Vallavaraiyan Vanthiyathevan, Trisha as Kundavai Devi, while Aishwarya Rai Bachchan appeared in a dual role as Nandini and Mandakini Devi. 

The news of PS: 1 hitting the box office milestone was announced by Vikram on Twitter on Friday, who wrote, "Somebody pls pinch me.. & tell me this is not a dream. #PonniyinSelvan." Based on legendary Tamil writer Kalki Krishnamurthy's acclaimed novel, the film ended on a cliffhanger note with the fates of Jayam Ravi's Arunmozhi Varman and Karthi's Vanthiyathevan in the balance, while Vikram as Aditha Karikalan is shown to be heading to exact vengeance against Nandini. With Ponniyin Selvan: 1 also giving audiences a glimpse of Aishwarya Rai as Mandakini jumping into the sea to rescue Jayam Ravi and Karthi's characters, there is massive excitement for the sequel, Ponniyin Selvan: 2, which is slated to arrive in April 2023. Check out Vikram's announcement below: 

Considering Ponniyin Selvan: 1 teased the events of the next installment, there is already a lot of speculation among fans on social media regarding the story as many who had earlier read Kalki's writings have gone back to revisit the books once again, with new readers as well joining in to learn what happens next. Apart from the lead stars in Mani Ratnam's Ponniyin Selvan, the film featured an ensemble cast among whom included Aishwarya Lekshmi, R. Sarathkumar, Parthiban, Jayaram, Sobhita Dhulipala, Prabhu, Vikram Prabhu, Prakash Raj, Rahman, Ashwin Kakumanu, Nizhalgal Ravi, Lal, Vijaykumar, Vinodhini Vaidyanathan, Jayachitra, Vidya Subramanian, Nassar, Kishore, Riyaz Khan, Mohan Raman to name a notable few.