Two-time National Award-winning actor Dhanush is currently attached to several high-profile ventures and one among them is the highly-anticipated Maaran being directed by Dhuruvangal Pathinaaru and Mafia fame Karthick Naren. Composer G. V. Prakash Kumar, who is belting the tunes once again for Dhanush after his chart-busters in the 2019 blockbuster Asuran, took to social media on Sunday to inform fans that the work on the Maaran audio is in its final stages. He further stated that the upcoming film's album will feature four tracks, including a power-packed theme song. It is to be noted that the music director turned actor has also given memorable tunes in Dhanush films like Polladhavan, Aadukalam and Mayakkam Enna. GV Prakash wrote, "Maaran update - #maaran audio at final stages of work … will have 4 tracks which includes the raging #maaran theme … audio soon". Below is the tweet:

Touted to be a new-gen investigative thriller, Maaran entered its final stages of shooting towards the end of September, with the complete production expected to come to a wrap soon. Initially titled D43, the film's first look was released on the occasion of Dhanush's birthday and saw the superstar holding a pen while pushing another person's head down on a glass table, with the poster receiving a stellar feedback. Maaran will see Dhanush sharing screen space opposite Master heroine and youth sensation Malavika Mohanan. The film's supporting cast features names like Samuthirakani, Smruthi Venkat, Soorarai Pottru fame Krishnakumar and Master Mahendran, who is reportedly playing a character with negative shades. 

Being produced by Sathya Jyothi Films, Maaran marks the third occasion Dhanush is collaborating with the prestigious banner after their previous ventures namely Thodari (2016) and Pattas (2020). The film has a screenplay written by the acclaimed writer duo of Sharfu-Suhas, with lyricist Vivek also turning screenwriter and dialogue writer for the first time. The core technical team on board for Maaran includes cinematographer Vivekanand Santhosham, editor Prasanna GK and art director A Amaran.