In what has otherwise been a distraught year for the entire world, Cricket enthusiasts got a chance to enjoy their passion when the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced that this year's edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) would actually take place, despite the COVID-19 Novel Corona Virus Pandemic! IPL 2020 happened in what all of us are going through and calling, the "new normal". The entire tournament was played behind closed doors without any spectators and the teams being restricted behind biosecure bubbles. After the rigorous league stages and the highly competitive Playoffs, today marked the D-day, the day of the IPL 2020 finals! Mumbai Indians had gotten to their 6th IPL finals after a comprehensive win over Delhi Capitals in the Qualifier 1! However, after the Eliminator and Qualifier 2, DC came back to face MI in the finals! Shreyas Iyer won the toss and decided to bat first, as they had won their last match, batting first. DC went in with an unchanged team while MI made one tactical change and brought in Jayant Yadav to replace Rahul Chahar, considering the number of left-handers in the DC lineup!

Things didn't go all that well for DC as they lost their star player Marcus Stoinis - their hero of the last match, for the very first ball of the innings, bowled by Trent Boult! Dhawan seemed to be in good nick but Boult seemed to be in the zone as he removed Rahane in his 2nd over. The newcomer Jayant Yadav removed Dhawan to a wily delivery in the 4th over to leave DC on 25/3 off 4 overs! However, Shreyas Iyer and Rishabh Pant combined to consolidate a fruitful partership and took DC to 41/3 by the end of their Powerplay. Pant was playing the first decisive innings of his IPL and reached his maiden 50 of this season in the 15th over! However, he fell shortly after, leaving Iyer to wage a lone battle. Hetmeyer fell cheaply, again to Boult, but Iyer notched up a half-century and also 500 runs for this season along the way. Axar Patel couldn't make much of a statement and Rabada sacrificed his wicket in the quest for a 2nd run for DC to end on a below-par 156/7! MI were set a rather easy target of 157 to win their 5th IPL title.

Out walked Rohit Sharma and Quinton de Kock to open for MI, as Ashwin opened the bowling for DC. The MI batsmen seemed to be on a mission as they ravaged Rabada's over for 18 runs! Stoinis was brought on, in as early as the 5th over and he struck with his first ball to remove QDK but Suryakumar Yadav still took him for 13 runs in the over, showcasing MI's batting might! Rohit eased into the DC bowling and built his innings and MI had galloped to 88/1 at the end of 10 overs! The game was turning fast in MI's favour with the DC bowling not showing any grit! A horrible mixup hurried SKY's end but he sacrificed his wicket for his captain's sake. Rohit took apart all bowlers, including Rabada and Ashwin and MI were cruising to victory with Rohit leading the way! Ishan Kishan continued with his rich form and hastened the innings with Rohit falling on 68, with victory very much in sight! Pollard came in and stroked a couple of boundaries before falling to Rabada. Hardik Pandya too fell with just 2 runs needed but MI cantered to a 5-wicket win in the 19th over, with 8 balls to spare. MI had secured an easy win, easing to their 5th IPL title and shown their dominance this season. Boult was awarded the Player of the Final for his efforts! This brought an end to the IPL and the deserving MI stamped their class, yet again! Devdutt Padikkal also deservingly won the Emerging Player of the Year award, with Jofra Archer bagging the Most Valuable Player of the tournament honours! A happy MI camp will look forward to defending yet another title, the next year!! Kudos to MI!