Today's match of IPL 2020 was played between two sides competing to finish in the Top 4 of this year's IPL league stages to get a chance to play in the Playoffs! KKR are already in 4th place while KXIP have won 4 games in a row to go from being at the bottom of the table to be on 5th place! KL Rahul won the toss and decided that his KXIP would chase! Both teams remained unchanged from their previous games and Shubman Gill & Nitish Rana walked out to open for KKR. Maxwell found magic as he removed last match's hero Rana for a duck, off his 2nd ball itself! Shami removed Tripathi the next over and followed it up with Karthik's wicket, a couple of balls later. However, KXIP's 6th over bowled by Shami went for 21 runs and KKR had reached 54/3 by the end of the Powerplay with Gill showing good touch!

Morgan joined Gill in displaying a positive temperament and the duo began smashing all the bowlers, all around the ground! Unfortunately for Morgan, young Ravi Bishnoi got him with a good ball and he departed on 40. Narine didn't last long and fell the very next over itself, for just 6! This was followed by a couple of very quiet overs, before Kamlesh Nagarkoti was bowled by Murugan Ashwin. Pat Cummins, who has scored well in the recent games, couldn't replicate his form and was out the next over to Bishnoi, who was going through a magnificent spell! Gill and Lockie Ferguson continued hitting boundaries, before Shami came on in the 19th over to take out Gill for a well-made 57. Jordan bowled the last over and got Varun Chakravarthy bowled for 2 and KKR could only manage to get to 149/9! KXIP needed 150 to win on a small Sharjah ground but a good start was needed to get going during the run chase. 

KL Rahul kicked off the run-chase with a boundary off the first ball! However, the KKR bowlers kept things tight till Rahul broke free in the 4th over with a couple of boundaries. Mandeep Singh joined in on the fun with a 4 and a 6 of his own, in the 5th over! By the end of the Powerplay, KXIP had scored only 36 but luckily they had not lost any wickets! Rahul was the first KXIP wicket to fall to Varun, in the 8th over. Out walked the Universe Boss Chris Gayle and joined Mandeep in the middle! The two didn't take long to get going and smashed Varun's over for 17 runs to bring KXIP to 67/1, at the end of the 10th over! Gayle got into the groove and did not spare Narine nor Ferguson and smashed them both for boundaries, to get the tempo going! Once Gayle started to get into groove, Mandeep followed suit and the two batsmen raised a century partnership within the 18th over with just 3 runs being needed to win off 12 balls! Unfortunately, Gayle fell to Ferguson, after completing a half century and Pooran joined Mandeep to complete the formalities. KXIP had won by 8 wickets, with 7 balls to spare. Mandeep Singh was awarded the Player of the Match for his outstanding 66 runs not out, especially when he had just lost his father a couple of days back! KXIP have now moved to 4th place on the Points Table and have a better NRR than KKR, who have slipped to 5th!