The 13th edition of the world's most popular T20 tournament - the Indian Premier League (IPL) is nearing the end with only the final left to be played. Mumbai Indians and Delhi Capitals will be facing off in the IPL 2020 final, on 10/11/2020 (Tuesday). After this, India will be touring Australia for a full series, including Tests, ODIs and T20s! The squads for each of these formats was recently announced by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). One of the most notable omissions was Rohit Sharma, who was originally touted to be injured but returned to play for Mumbai Indians in the last league game of IPL 2020 as well as the Qualifier 1! Many youngsters had also gotten an opportunity to be a part of these squads.

However, a spate of recent injuries have now caused the BCCI to announce some changes in all three squads. It is well known to everybody that the Indian Cricket team Captain Virat Kohli's wife Anushka Sharma is currently carrying. Now, it has been announced that Virat Kohli will be availing Paternity leave and leaving from Australia early, to be present in India for his child's delivery. India's tour of Australia will see the three ODIs being played first, followed by 3 T20Is and then the four Tests. It has been announced by the BCCI that Virat Kohli would play till the first Test match of the series and then leave from Australia. Rohit Sharma, who was earlier not named as part of any of the squads, has now been included as part of the Test squad. The BCCI has however now announced that he has been rested for the limited overs leg of the series and will be a part of the squad for the Tests and could also be one of the contenders alsongide Ajinkya Rahane, to lead in Kohli's absence!

Varun Chakravarthy, the mystery spinner from Tamil Nadu who plays for Kolkata Knight Riders in the IPL, had earned his maiden call-up to the National Team and was a part of the T20 squad. However, reports state that he has now sustained an injury and will not be travelling to Australia. Quick bowler T Natarajan, who played for SRH in this IPL and impressed everybody with his accurate yorker skills, has been named as Varun's replacement. He had earlier been named as part of the touring squad but only as a nets bowler. Also, India's first choice Test wicketkeeper Wriddhiman Saha, had sustained injuries during the IPL and is a doubtful starter. Ishant Sharma is also undergoing rehabilitation for an injury at the National Cricket Academy in Bengaluru and is expected to join the squad in time for the Tests. Sanju Samso, who was earlier named as part of only the T20 squad, has now been named as an additional wicketkeeper for the ODI squad too!